British Columbia News

New board members announced for Interior Health

https://news.gov.bc.ca/15460 Friday, September 22, 2017 8:35 AM

Victoria - The Government of British Columbia has appointed Dr. Doug Cochrane as new board chair for Interior Health, and Dr. Selena Lawrie and Cindy Stewart as board members.

"Congratulations to Interior Health's new board chair and members," said Health Minister Adrian Dix. "They have significant experience in health care and their dedication to their communities will contribute to our goal as a government to provide leadership for a strong public health-care system in British Columbia."

"Of special note are the existing contributions of board chair Dr. Doug Cochrane, who has held a variety of important roles within the health-care system, and will be able to use his breadth of experience in patient safety and quality to enhance the care offered by Interior Health," added Dix.

A health authority board of directors helps ensure that British Columbians receive the best possible care in an efficient, well-managed public health-care system. Boards are responsible for the governance and management of health services in the province. They work with health authority leadership to establish the organization's overall vision and ensure there is appropriate community consultation. Boards also regularly review the organization's long-term plans, look at significant issues affecting the organization and evaluate results.

Dix thanks previous Interior Health board chair John O'Fee and member Renee Wasylyk for their service.

A backgrounder follows.

Contacts

Ministry of Health Communications 250 952-1887 (media line)

Backgrounders

Appointments to Interior Health's board of directors

Dr. Doug Cochrane is the chair and provincial patient safety and quality officer of the BC Patient Safety and Quality Council. Cochrane is professor emeritus at the University of British Columbia in neurosurgery. Previously, he chaired the BC Patient Safety Taskforce and has served as a member of the board of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute.

Dr. Selena Lawrie is a family physician and site director for the University of British Columbia Family Practice Residency Program in Kamloops. Lawrie is also the president of Supporting Team Excellence with Patients Society and a steering committee member representative for the Ministry of Health in the Physicians Health Program.

Cindy Stewart is the retired president of the Health Sciences Association of B.C. She was vicepresident of the BC Federation of Labour and a member of the executive board of the National Union of Public and General Employees. Stewart served as one of two labour representatives appointed to the joint advisory committee to the arbitration bureau, and was a member of an adjudication committee for one of Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council's three 1999 strategic programs: Society, Culture and the Health of Canadians. She holds a bachelor of science in rehabilitation medicine from the University of British Columbia and has worked as physiotherapist.