

BOARD REPORT

TO: Chair and Directors File No: 7200 01

SUBJECT: Fire Chief Appointments

DESCRIPTION: Report from Derek Sutherland, Team Leader, Protective Services, dated

December 23, 2019, CSRD Fire Chief Appointments.

RECOMMENDATION: THAT: The Board receive the report for information, this 16th day of

January, 2020.

SHORT SUMMARY:

Fire chief appointments were made for 12 of the CSRD's 13 fire departments in accordance with CSRD Policy No. W-09, Appointment of Fire Chiefs. CSRD fire chiefs are appointed for a three year term; the most recent appointments commence January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2022. No applications were received from the Scotch Creek/Lee Creek Fire Hall and the existing fire chief is stepping down as of December 31, 2019.

VOTING: Unweighted ⊠ Corporate LGA Part 14 □ Weighted □ Stakeholder (Unweighted) Stakeholder □ (Weighted)]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	---

BACKGROUND:

In the fall of 2019, an expression of interest was circulated to CSRD fire departments seeking applications for fire chief for the next three year term.

Applications were received and reviewed in accordance with Policy W-09. The existing fire chiefs in 11 of the 13 fire departments will remain the same for the next three year term. The current Fire Chief of the Malakwa Fire Department resigned as he is moving out of the area and no applications were received for the Scotch Creek/Lee Creek department. A recruitment process was conducted in Malakwa and resulted in James McKilligan being appointed Fire Chief. With no suitable candidates available, the Scotch Creek/Lee Creek fire department will be headed by Sean Coubrough, Fire Services Coordinator with support from Derek Sutherland, Team Leader until a replacement can be found.

Fire Chief appointments are as follows for the term January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2022:

Area A	Area E
Nicholson Fire Dept Parker Vaile	Malakwa Fire Dept James McKilligan
	Swansea Point Fire Dept David Schurek
Area C	Area D
Tappen/Sunnybrae Fire Dept Ryan Gray	Silver Creek Fire Dept Len Serrazin
Shuswap Fire Dept Gary Holt	Falkland Fire Dept Troy Ricard
Eagle Bay Fire Dept Alan Rendell	Ranchero Fire Dept. Marvin Gross

White Lake Fire Dpt Bryan Griffin
Area F
Scotch Creek/Lee Creek Fire Dept Vacant
Celista Fire Dept Roy Phillips
Anglemont Fire Dept Graham Lucas

POLICY:

Fire Chief appointments are conducted in accordance with CSRD Policy No. W-09, Appointment of Fire Chiefs. Each fire chief is appointed by the Chief Administrative Officer or designate for a three year term.

FINANCIAL:

Fire Chiefs are compensated in accordance with CSRD Policy No. F-12, CSRD Firefighter and Officer Remuneration. Costs are reflected in the Five Year Financial Plan of the respective fire department.

KEY ISSUES/CONCEPTS:

To provide the Board with timely information related to the fire chief appointments.

IMPLEMENTATION:

Appointment letters have been provided to each successful applicant and relevant Area Directors have been notified. The CSRD has initiated a recruiting process to obtain a fire chief for the Scotch Creek/Lee Creek Fire Department.

DESIRED OUTCOMES:

A suitable candidate for fire chief of the Scotch Creek/Lee Creek Fire Department will be appointed as soon as possible to limit the amount of CSRD staff time and resources that will need to be allocated during this transition.

BOARD'S OPTIONS:

- 1. Endorse the Recommendation.
- 2. Deny the Recommendation.
- 3. Defer.
- 4. Any other action deemed appropriate by the Board.

Report Approval Details

Document Title:	2020-01-16_Board_OM_Fire_Chief_Appointments_2020-2022.docx
Attachments:	
Final Approval Date:	Jan 2, 2020

This report and all of its attachments were approved and signed as outlined below:

Darcy Mooney

Lynda Shykora

Charles Hamilton